Un-filtered

Last year I helped a photographer shoot a car for a prestigious newspaper. The owner of the car built the car up from the bolts while in college. While there the man told us that he decided to build it then because he had the tools and opportunity at his fingertips to do whatever he pleased. Ever since I heard this quote it has reverberated in me. I am in college, my last year, and I have some of the most amazing equipment at my fingertips and thanks to some, my family, I have time to sharpen my skills outside of the classroom so that way on the day of my graduation I can be the best photographer that I can be.

 

bw_riots_-11

I have a lot of people ask me if I am happy with the concentration, photojournalism that I chose. I reply by saying “I am living the dream!” I get to shoot some of the widest range of things; it is never boring. One day I could be shooting baseball and the next portraits of a student that got a scholarship from the school. My camera has gotten me into the front seat of history in the making whether it’s in the tear gassed filled 10_27_16_hillary_clinton_winston_salem_221streets of Charlotte, North Carolina as rioters grow stronger and more violent against police or for the first time that Michelle Obama and Hillary Clinton are on the same stage during Clinton’s campaign. I get to experience the best and the worst of individuals through the lens of my camera.

 

 

That being said I am learning that photojournalism brings a lot of baggage. And the more I shoot the heavier the baggage gets. Yes, I have only been in

That being said I am learning that photojournalism brings a lot of baggage. And the more I shoot the heavier the baggage gets. Yes, I have only been in the photojournalism field for less than 3 months but I have covered a lot. I say all this to say that as photojournalist we see the world unfiltered and every once in a while sometimes our filter needs to be emptied. So if you have friends that are in this field of work or if you are; make sure to keep tabs on them or on your psychological state. We present the world through a filter but in order to do that some of us have,/choose to cover these events un-filtered.

brockt_event3_d

One comment

Leave a Reply

