It’s Been Real 2016

2016 has been an exciting, interesting year photographically speaking. A lot has happened in these 365 days; some “negative” and “positive” but overall 2016 has “developed” in to a great year (and yes there is a photography pun there.) I have been blogging for almost two years now and though I do not keep up with it as much as I wish to, however, with being in school my education trumps blogs. To wrap up 2016 with a bang I thought I would follow the fad that I see among bloggers and posting my 10 most viewed blogs starting with the least viewed.

 

#10 Charlotte Protest

Kinda of dishearting, to be honest, that this only got one view. It was a rainy night and I have been keeping up with what happened in Charlotte in regards of the shooting of Keith Lamont Scott. I considered this to be journalistic/news worthy but I guess some people see it as promoting the group. That was not my intent it was to shed light on what is happening in our world.

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 11.56.51 AM.png

#9 Un-filtered

Was more of a rant after really just getting exposed to what photojournalism really is. It has to be a passion because the scrutiny that one goes under from both sides can be brutal.

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 12.11.36 PM.png

#8 It’s a “Ruff” Life

This was more of an unspoken challenge. My mom talked about how one year while at the beach my father took pictures of just about every dog he saw. So I decided to the same however, I decided to practice my lighting also. Using a 12×12 softbox that I made with mat board and used my sb-600 to give a nice soft/directional light.

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 12.22.26 PM.png

#7 “Patience is bitter, but its fruit is sweet”

Explains why I loose more money than I make in being a photographer, especially with my kids.

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 12.27.10 PM.png

 

#6 Shadow Boxing

One of the coolest experience I have had. It was actually a school assignment but I went out on a limb and decided to try for a boxing ring. It was so much fun playing with the Profoto B1(s) that I almost forgot to eat dinner.

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 12.37.32 PM.png

#5 Hello Old Friend

One of my favorite personal quotes that I have written: “One might think that it is relaxing, however, if one adds children to the equation one can find that the sum of the problem multiplies, greatly”

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 12.42.30 PM.png

#4 Spending Time with Family

Just trying out the homemade softbox with my granddad in his garden.

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-12-48-03-pm

#3 Weekend Getaway

My wife decided to surprise me with a weekend getaway, camping and hiking around Grandfather Mountain. Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 12.50.30 PM.png

#2 Neutral

The blog that got a good bit of scrutiny from an alumni from the RCC Photography program, where I go to school.  Note: I blocked their profile picture and name cause I don’t want him to get anymore publicity than they got already.

#1 My Personal Thoughts

The Charlotte riots changed me for forever. The hatred I saw that night I will never forget but this image just sends chills up my spine every time I look at it.

Screen Shot 2016-12-30 at 1.09.14 PM.png

 

It has been a wild ride this year. But I believe 2017 has so much more to offer. Thanks for riding along with me on this thing we call life. I hope you continue to follow me into 2017 I am sure it will be a great deal of fun.

Leave a Reply

